National dog day brought exciting news

Hello friends!

I know, I know – I’ve been extremely slack on this. Well, that’s all about to change…..

National dog day, one of my favorite days – August 27th – It usually means that I get to “like” everyone’s super cute social media pictures of their dog.

This year however, it brought us the “unofficial” email announcing that we were selected as new parents to this guy.

126587298

Meet Bruno. He’s a four year old Bernese Mountain dog currently fostered the next province over from me.

He was surrendered to BFW (Bernese Friends Worldwide) because his family recognized that they no longer had time for him. Sadly, a story we hear all too often. However, I’m thankful his family recognized this, and saw his potential to have a fantastic future with another family that had the time to give.

What a ragamuffin he was in his “before” pictures. After countless grooming hours he became the beautiful Berner he was meant to be. His painful mats were finally cut away, he received a bill of good health from the vet –  and finally he was up for adoption.

IMG_1409234227738
Ruffffff, look at what a great grooming session can do!

His adoption photo got around on facebook (YAY Social Media), and I had about 5 different people send me his bio. (I meant LOOK at that face)

The process was more intensive then I thought it would be. Being on the receiving end of this was much more emotional than I thought it to be. An emotional rollercoaster that lasted a week! It brought up so many memories and learnings from Newton. As they asked our past dog ownership history, I used the only examples I knew.

The committee questioned me on everything from training methodologies to my opinions on vaccinations, emergency situations and dog food preferences. It was evident, they want the dog not to go to the best home on paper – but the best fit for the dog in question.

As intensive as it was, the process went fairly quickly (After two interviews, a Skype house visit and references checking out), and we found out on August 27th that we were the chosen as Bruno’s new forever home.

I haven’t met Bruno’s foster parents yet, but I have to give a HUGE shout out to them. I’ve asked about a million questions already, and they have patiently answered enthusiastically. Selflessly, they’ve given Bruno a home, albeit temporary, loved him and cared for him and facilitated the process that allowed us to find him. A process that we are very grateful for. WTG Foster parents – you rock!

Bruno with his foster Mom - K
Bruno with his foster Mom – K

There’s a odd sense of guilt associated with the process of bringing another dog into your house. I was prepared for that, especially today of all days. Timing is a weird little duck. Today August 29th, It would have been Newton’s 4th birthday, we signed the papers to adopt another 4 year old Bernese Mountain Dog.

Dates are always weird for me – Certain ones stick out. Today, in another lifetime, I would be shopping for Newton’s 4th birthday present(s). Instead I’m in the store choosing all of his favorite things for another. (Thanks Newton for showing me how valuable a stuffed Kong could be!).

However, with time comes clarity. For me, that meant getting to a place where I could celebrate his life and be grateful for the time Newt-dawg was with us.

The totally over the top factor for us is that we’re giving a new home to rescue pup. It makes both me and my Mr. get a little misty eyed when we chat about it over wine. In our own way, paying back to what helped us through a very tough time. As ridiculously excited as I’m getting, I’m attuned to what lay ahead.

Stay tuned for more on our next chapter…. Starting tomorrow!

Cheers,

 

Dailyspro

2 thoughts on “National dog day brought exciting news

  1. I am soooooo happy for you!!!! I think your emotions surrounding Newton and Bruno are totally normal. The day I brought Harper Lee home, I cried and cried because she brought up so many memories of Talbot (the Golden Retriever who preceded her) and I was just filled with guilt for loving this new puppy so much, sort of like my heart was cheating on Talbot. I’ll always have a special spot in my heart for Talbot, right next to the special spot that Harper Lee occupies. You’ll be the same. Cannot wait to “meet” Bruno!

Leave a Reply

