A little lax

Good morning friends,

Let me start by apologizing that I’ve been a little lot lax in my writing over the past two – three weeks. I hit a speed bump in my healing process.

It hit me like a ton of bricks one day. I was walking home from work (something I hadn’t done in some time), and realized that the last time I walked this path was with Newton.

Image

I couldn’t help myself, I found the nearest bench and had a “moment”. As much as I wish, it was not the kind where your makeup stays immaculate and your polish still shines. It was the kind of moment that makes you want to curl up in your favorite jammies and hide from the world with the curtains drawn – yep it  was an ugly cry.

I felt like I had lost my best friend all over again. Experiencing all these “firsts” without him is heartbreaking. All these moments can be heartwrenching. Almost like constant reminders telling you what you no longer have.

I’m writing you this because some of you are going through what I am as well.  After taking some time to think about it, it’s unfortunately part of the process of moving through the guilt, never forgetting – but functioning and enjoying the life we are fortunate to have. I realize I’ve made an effort to stay positive and upbeat – offer solutions to your own healing processes. Sometimes, however, you just need to take a moment, feel the pain and then try and patch yourself back together and carry on. Remind yourself only of the wonderful times spent together.

There is a feeling of guilt that I believe is natural – moving on without your companion. This is where my “Newton principles” kick in and remind me of what life is all about – Love, peace and joy. Stop and be thankful for what we have, enjoy the little things in life.

I’ve surrendered to the process of moving forward, understanding that there will be moments like this – lots in fact. It feels at times like it is a step backward, but grief does not have a time limit. My words of advice –  it’s ok to get lost in the moment, just don’t lose yourself in the process.

Give all your pets an extra snuggle from me today!

Dailyspro

Newton, making yet another new friend
Newton, making yet another new friend
6 thoughts on “A little lax

  1. It’s hard, unfortunately. It’s interesting that you mentioned guilt. When my human mommy first met me, she couldn’t let herself love me completely because it made her feel a little guilty . . . like she was somehow forgetting Talbot, the Golden Retriever who preceded me. I’m happy to say that my mommy has come around (completely), and she realizes that loving me doesn’t lessen in any way the love she had for Talbot. It’s hard; it takes time; it happens in a different way for everyone . . . but it does get better. Hang in there. 🙂

  2. Oh, I know, it’s like one step forward two steps back…It’s like when you listen to “Landslide” by Fleetwood Mac, she sings…”Can I handle the seasons of my life?…I don’t know…” Such an honest song…Just keep breathing…Hugs–

Leave a Reply

