A wonderful visit from an old friend

Hello friends,

You’ve all been patiently waiting to hear who my newest boarder is. So without further ado, meet Richard (aka – Great News: Part 2) !

Image

Richard is Newton’s brother, former play buddy and identical personality twin. Newton was boarded at his house when we traveled. When his owner asked me to board him for a week or two, I tried to hold back tears. I couldn’t.

They were tears of happiness.

Image
Couch snuggles were followed by vacuuming furry tumbleweeds….

If I’m being honest – our house feels like a home again  with a Bernese visitor in it. I love all of my boarders, but this one is obviously a bit  more emotional for me.

“There’s something about being greeted at the door by a giant black and white panda bear, full of fur and drool, that warms my heart.”

I see Richard, and am reminded of Newton – This time in a positive light. Great memories pour in as I enjoy my time with him. I am reminded of why I fell in love with Newton in the first place, and also the breed. Those big goofy eyes, giant paws and furry faces exude love.  What better therapy is there then that?

Image
Newton with his Berner family. See Richard and Newton together on the far left!

You should my other two little fur kids faces!. It was like Christmas morning when Richard breezed through the house. Frankie and Stewart were greeted with “cat baths” from him, which Stewart begrudgingly accepted and Frankie loved (and now receives a few times a day). Now Frank “the Tank” has turned into Richard’s shadow, which I find amazingly adorable.

Image
Besties

I honestly wasn’t sure how this was going to go, but happy we were open to the opportunity. I’ve found comfort and joy in being around other dogs (fostering, boarding and training can be healthy and healing – when you’re ready!). It makes me aware that a new addition would not take the place of Newton in our hearts, as we have room for more. I wasn’t convinced of that a week ago.

I continue to miss Newton every single day, which I don’t expect to change. Grief, after all, does not have an expiration date.

My advice if you’re feeling down? Find a cool pup that enjoys a snuggle or two.

A huge thanks to Richards parents for entrusting us for the next little while with this wonderful fur kid, stay tuned for more pics and posts to come 🙂

Dailyspro

16 thoughts on “A wonderful visit from an old friend

    • You nailed it right on Rusty! You’ll get to meet him this weekend – prepare yourself for the fur and kisses!

      His “real” name is Sir Lionheart Richard… perfection 🙂

Leave a Reply

