Third Annual Pet Blogger Challenge

Good morning friends,

 

Some news!

Image

 

The wonderful Amy Burkert who writes the official travel blog for Gopetfriendly.com, has launched this years Third Annual Pet Blogger Challenge.

 

I didn’t start out this blog to be exclusively about my pets, but due to the sad circumstances of the last few weeks and the ongoing support I’ve found from the dog lovers community, that is what this has turned into. So, in order to get to know some of my fellow pet bloggers I’m going to take the Third Annual Pet Blogger Challenge. We are supposed to post our answers to the questions in the link below tomorrow – so stay tuned. I’m hopeful that some of you will also take part!

 

Here’s the link  – http://gopetfriendlyblog.com/third-annual-pet-blogger-challenge-jan-10th/

 

Cheers,

 

AJS

10 thoughts on “Third Annual Pet Blogger Challenge

  1. Thank you so much for spreading the word about this fun challenge. We are so very sorry about the circumstances that have resulted in the new direction your blog has taken; but we are delighted that you have found such love and support from the special humans who adore dogs so much.

  2. It is under very sad circumstances that I decided to go this new route. However, I have people and pups like you who have given me so much support during this difficult time, how could I not want to join your community. I do hope that you and your human will take part in this fun challenge too!

  3. Thanks for liking my post and for sharing this fun challenge with us. I’m so sorry about your sweet dog. It took me a long time to “get over” losing my other two dogs a few years ago, but after enough time had passed I did get another dog… and another… and another and I love them all just as much. It will get easier with time.

    • It’s still very hard. I need time, and I know we will be forever dog owners/slaves. Even after everything we just went through, we’d do it all over again in a heartbeat. Newton trained us to be better parents 🙂

  4. So glad I found your blog a couple weeks ago – while your story has been painful, by sharing it you are making sure we all hold our pups a little closer and remember to cherish them always. Thanks.

    • I appreciate you finding it and thank you more so much for your kind words. It’s still very hard, but this blog is helping me make baby steps. Make sure you give your pups an extra hug from me!

  5. Reblogged this on NuveaSantosCobb and commented:
    I came across this great post on the dailyspro blog and I thought I should share it with fellow pet bloggers!
    1. When did you begin your blog?
    I started my blog last February, so I’m coming up on my first year anniversary! Feels like I just started it!
    2. What was your original purpose for starting a blog?
    My dogs and I love to go hiking, especially in the desert surrounding Palm Springs, so I originally was only going to post photos and information on our hikes, but then it evolved into a place where I shared random thoughts and other aspects of my life.
    3. Is your current purpose the same?
    I still want to include our dog hikes and I’m hoping to start showcasing local pet-friendly businesses, but I also want to include trails I ride with my horse and my husband’s team roping events. Besides those animal-related posts, I enjoy sharing stories about Portuguese culture and our adventures in the restoration of our cottage in Portugal. I also enjoy posting lots of photos of my garden.
    If not, what’s different?
    It’s become more personal. Putting your personal stuff (photos, stories, etc.) out there on the internet for all to see can be intimidating and scary. Blogging forces me to take creative challenges and push myself to grow as a photographer and writer, instead of just thinking about creative projects, I actually do them now.
    If so, how do you feel you’ve met your goals?
    I still have a long way to go; I’d like to be more consistent in my style and for my blog to be more visually appealing. I’d also like to include more stories and photographs about people and their pets.
    4. How often do you post?
    I’m afraid I’m terribly inconsistent. I’ve posted on an almost daily basis for short spurts, then skipped whole weeks.
    5. Do you blog on a schedule or as the spirit moves you?
    Definitely as the spirit moves me, but I’m trying to aim for 3 posts a week.
    If you publish on a schedule, why? How strict are you about your publishing deadlines? What do you do for inspiration when it feels like you’ve covered every topic?
    I have never run out of topics! I keep a running list of ideas for posts and add them to a calendar but finding the time to execute them all is the hard part!
    If you don’t publish on a schedule, why? How do you think your decision affects your audience? How do you know when a topic is “post-worthy?”
    I really have no idea what is “post-worthy”. Sometimes the posts I think are the least interesting are the ones with the most likes, and others I spend more time on get almost no hits, so I haven’t been able to figure out the magic formula.
    6. How much time do you spend writing your blog per week? How much time visiting other blogs? Share your tips for staying on top of it all.
    I love to write in the early morning, especially on weekends. I probably spend 2 to 3 hours a week on blogging my own stories, and check my blogroll reader every day for a few minutes to keep up on my favorite blogs. The list keeps growing!
    7. How do you measure the success of a post and of your blog in general (comments, shares, traffic)?
    I think getting comments on your posts shows the most engagement from your audience, so I really like those and try to reply to every one.
    Do you look strictly at the numbers, or do you have a way of assessing the quality of those interactions?
    I think it’s fun to check the stats page.
    8. If you could ask the pet blogging community for help with one issue you’re having with your blog, what would it be?
    There are a few design elements that I haven’t been able to figure out, mostly due to time constraints.
    9. What goals do you have for your blog in 2013?
    I’d like to improve my photography and give my blog a more cohesive look.

  6. Well, it seems I entered the responses to the questions in the wrong space!! Still new to this whole linking thing…I reblogged your post to share with other animal lovers but didn’t mean for my answers to post here…Please delete my reply if you wish!

Leave a Reply

