First Crack at Tabata Training – Crossfit

It gets ya every time
It gets ya every time

Tabata training, holy shit….

Pardon my language, but this melodramatic opening is rather suiting to describe what last night’s WOD was all about. I once again felt like this, this morning…

- Needed to include a post with Grumpy Cat
Grumpy cat is once again correct..

For those of you who do not know what Tabata is Tabatatraining.org explains it very well:  Tabata was founded in Japan by Izumi Tabata. He conducted tests on two groups of athletes; comparing moderate high intensity training with high intensity interval training.

The results were that the athletes training in high intensity interval training improved their aerobic systems as well as their anaerobic system. The athletes who did the moderate high intensity training only improved their aerobic system and had little to no increase in their anaerobic system.

My definition is that it’s a high intense cardio inspired workout that will kick your ass.

Tabata training can include really any exercise. The basic timeline usually looks something like this.

•     4 minutes long (the entire session)
•     20 seconds of crazy intense training
•     10 seconds of rest
•     Total of 8 sessions or rounds

Looks easy on paper… even as I type I’m checking this out thinking hmmmm. Then I remembered.

We did a double Tabata: 8 rounds of v-snaps or sit ups, then 8 rounds of squats & then the maximum about of kettlebell swings i.e. do them until you can’t anymore. EEEK!

If that wasn’t enough we went right from our kettlebell swings into a 400 m sprint. Thank GOD we were running on the padded floor. Due to the squats followed by kettlebell swings I swear to god I was running like this penguin.

Accurate
Accurate

Slowest sprinter EVER! My legs were so jelly-like and lacking control that even though I felt like I was running fast, I think it was more like a fast walk.

Still, I think I had a better time this this poor penguin….

It was stupendously strenuous. I feel it all over my body today. Somehow the soreness makes the workout validated. Isn’t that weird?

So the scoring of a Tabata workout is that you take your rep count from your lowest set of reps out of your 8 rounds (ex. Round 1 – 12 reps, Round 2 – 11 reps, Round 3 – 12 reps and so on. Your score would be 11 due to Round 2 being lowest). Therefore you need to ensure your consistent throughout your set. For me, I thought that 12 squats sounded reasonable… Reasonable yes… for the first 4 rounds. Round 5 found me dropping one rep, as did round 7 *sigh*.

Final score for me? 12 situps + 10 squats + 40 kettleball swings = 62

Upon finishing the above workout, I felt simultaneously like this: 08_28_small_freaking_awesome_kit_allen and this….

Let's be honest, I looked much more like this...
Let’s be honest, I looked much more like this…

That’s what my benchmark it. I am considerably modifying this workout. I only used a 18 lb kettlebell, rather then the recommended 35 lb.

Despite my constant whining throughout this post, I really enjoyed Tabata. I’m doing Crossfit to push myself hard and to get stronger. Tabata will certainly help deliver that.

Till next time friends,

AJS

I leave you with this... haha
I leave you with this… haha
12 thoughts on “First Crack at Tabata Training – Crossfit

  1. Tabata is hideously awesome – grumpy cat definitely sums it up! Those jelly legs are horrible, aren’t they – like somebody stole your kneecaps and replaced them with cold oatmeal. Good job on the score – solid stats!

  2. Thanks for visiting my blog – I know exactly how you feel and tabata time clocks are always wrong. it never feels like 20s or 10s – rest time feel like 4s or 5s and the work part feels like 40s. It is the hideously little workout that kill like ~ AMRAP 5 mins of KB and burpees.

Leave a Reply

