Crossfit definitions please

When you first start Crossfit, you should be handed a glossary. This glossary should decode all the Crossfit terms a newbie needs to know. I do not know how many times I stopped and looked at the board last night thinking, “what the hell does that mean?”.

It was my second time going to Crossfit, and I have to tell you it was remarkably better then the first – check out my recap of my first time here – DBT – A Crossfit newbie’s first ever WOD. After the DBT (death by Thrusters) workout, I could not travel the stairs for about 5 – 6 days. It was boarding on the ridiculous especially since I had caved and brought Yoga and an ice bath in my life for the week. Finally Saturday came around, and I could move with a slight grimace rather then a groan.

yikes!

Back to the definitions, it was my first time with Coach Gabrielle, who was amazing. Since I’m still so new, she was careful to have me demonstrate everything once my mobility and warm up were complete. In fact, our strength was actually included in one of our circuits on our WOD (workout of the day). Score for me, I didn’t have to look like the newb I am while figuring out what the push press was all about.

So on the WOD board were:

AMRAP – 20 mins

BJ x 30

PP x 20

PU x 30

WHAT???

I’m no dirty freak, but box jumps are not what pop in my head when I see the word BJ. You can stay silent on this one, but I know you all agree….

Thank goodness Crossfit members have such warm and generous natures as I must have had this look on my face after checking out the board…

Coach Gabrielle guided me with the patience of a saint. She recommended weight, technique and even made me try everything out at least 5 x (Although I think this should have gone toward my rep count…).

So for those of you wondering what the board meant:

AMRAP: As many rounds as possible (I still didn’t know what this one meant until I looked it up this morning)  😦

BJ: Box Jumps… now get the other thought out of your head you dirty bunnies..

PP: Push Press

PU: Pullups

I finished  22 pullups away from a full three rounds. Obviously I’m modifying my program – pullups with band assistance, push presses with light weights and step ups instead of box jumps. Hey – it’s only my second go. This morning I woke up and although I could feel stiffness in my muscles, I could MOVE!!!

I must say I really enjoyed this workout. Loved the circuit training Crossfit is notorious for. I still have not updated my facebook status to brag about my Crossfit workout, but I will say I’m getting sucked in (and have now blogged about it). It’s highly addictive in a great way.

Cheers!

AJS

2 thoughts on “Crossfit definitions please

Leave a Reply

